Feed a fever, starve a cold–put sox on it

It’s been an evening full of local idiosynchrocies–from the moment I tried to negotiate the final block of my walk home. That was the block in which explosives were being laid in the street, while both directions of auto traffic were being diverted into a single lane and the sidewalk was closed off in both directions.

By now, however, I can tell how close we are to detonation by eyeballing the explosive layout so I knew I ahd time to round the block to reach my front door….

Much later, I got to hear from Bob about the rather stunning folk wisdom he’d acquired during the day: a woman had been regaling all with how she copes with a cold: she dons wet socks, wraps her feet in plastic bags before bed so as to preserve the sheets in dryness, and lo and behold the “attacker cells” are stimulated by the ensuing discomfort to the point of wellness.

Kids, don’t try this at home: neither the explosives avoidance or the wet sock routine. Some days, the ostriches have the right idea….

4 Responses to “Feed a fever, starve a cold–put sox on it”

  1. Al Says:

    Gosh, maybe I should have tried the sock routine when I was sick. 🙂

  2. halifaxing Says:

    She did offer, he says, an alternative: rub your feet with garlic (again before going to bed). Myself, I’m sticking with hot lemonade ingested by mouth.

  3. Al Says:

    This woman sleeps alone, doesn’t she?

  4. halifaxing Says:

    well, probably not with a vampire at any rate….

Leave a Reply

