Start with hello

In my new country, people are basically more polite than my old. And I mean polite as in socially graceful.  They start at the beginning, rather than plunging in halfway through to the point they want to make.

I am trying to learn from their example. Easier said than done.  Until now, I didn’t realize how often I am prone to begin a conversation or request, without that initial greeting that sets the stage for two people to ahve even minimal interaction that isn’t a brawl.

It’s kind of refreshing, that pause before the launch.  Hello.

3 Responses to “Start with hello”

  1. carole leita Says:

    an ephiphany?

  2. halifaxing Says:

    says the person who regularly asks me a question when we bang into each other in the library, with no preamble except a smile. smiles work like hellos, of course….

  3. Lynn Says:

    I learned this the hard way from the prim and proper ladies of Pictou County! : \

Leave a Reply

