Something like the Hallelujah chorus

In a great train wreck of due dates, my new work permit’s expected arrival time–per the government website–seemed to be floating forward on the calendar, eventually endangering the use of my ticket to Scotland for a planned vacation.  So, I constructed alternative plans, bought an alternative ticket, and hunkered down to wait it all out.

And then, lo and behold, the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come appeared on my doorstep yesterday, either two days late, two weeks early, or  what?  It depended on which piece of all equally official info I had chosen to believe.

Now, I wander, spiritually, somewhere between atheism and agnosticism (if you pray during plane takeoffs, you are not a true atheist, although you may be a lapsed superstitionist), but this timing of the permit’s arrival has sent into a kind of theological speculation:  was it an angry god who punished me with uncertainty or a loving god who got it here with two days to spare?

I don’t mean this in a serious way–I don’t thin–but the whole felt experience did call to mind that dichotomy between Old and New Testament personalities. And I have to do something to amuse myself while I now wait through another 48 hours before I can leave legal and come home secure in theknowledge that I’m permitted.

2 Responses to “Something like the Hallelujah chorus”

  1. Marg Says:

    It is very disconcerting to be held hostage this way. Congrats on getting your travel papers in order. I know what it is like to be waiting for your “parole”. Enjoy your trip – I hope you will still be able to get to Scotland as planned.

  2. halifaxing Says:

    Yup, off tomorrow night!

Leave a Reply

