A culture’s calendar

Unlike the relatively successful neutralizing of Bay Area business to public acknowledgment of culture-specific closed periods, public life is much influenced by church and family.  That is to say, we seem to have significant slowdowns in July and August, during “family vacations” and again in December “because of Christmas.”

This extends to many quarters:  staff meetings aren’t held in the summer months and December brings the sporadic closures of restaurants because they are otherwise occupied with “The Holiday Staff Party.” Some wag put me in charge of poinsettia orders for a variety of work locations, a duty for which I am both unfit and unwilling.  And yet, I serve.

It’s not a topic in which I try to engage others in either debate or conversation.  I mind, a bit, that I’m simply considered a Scrooge, but the fact is, if I stop to pay a lot of attention to the creche scenes on public property, I start questioning promises of religious freedom.  So I don’t pause.  I just try to locate all the projects that can use this extra bit of time that I’m granted through the process of the general slowdown.

2 Responses to “A culture’s calendar”

  1. Lynn Says:

    I think this is where the “Canadian quality of life” and “Maritime family values” part kicks in…In case I don’t see you before you leave for vacation I wish you and yours “Happy Holidays!”

  2. halifaxing Says:

    Ah, yes, I think you’ve spotted it. You all have good holidays, whatever you may consider them to be–or not!

Leave a Reply

