Sweet teeth

When I was a kid, I remember being told–no doubt by my statistics-loving mother–that Canadians eat more candy than folks in the US. (Why this entered the conversation I do not remember).  Certainly the smorgasbord of options is broader here, with every candy counter offering up US, UK and home-grown Canadian brands and options.

There’s a communal candy jar in my work group’s general office area and I contribute to it on a regular basis, which gives me more satisfaction than does an actual and personal binge of eating the stuff. Finding offerings for the jar has allowed me to make some important discoveries:  I now know that I really like lemon sherbets and Fox’s Fruit Glaciers, and I still don’t like licorice.

I’m not sure that this is really useful info, even for me.  It’s not as if I were contemplating a career change that encompasses my appreciation–or lack thereof–of specific flavours. But there is something about this time of year, as we begin a descent toward the end of the calendar, that seems to breed increasing interest on everyone’s part in edibles:  candies, cookies, funny looking crumb cakes. Tim Horton’s has changed their donut flavour of the month (no kidding) from pumpkin spice to chocolate candy cane.

It’s enough to make me think I’d better start hunting up a local dentist.

2 Responses to “Sweet teeth”

  1. Marg Says:

    I have to admit I always make sure to pick up a Cadbury’s Fruit and Nut bar when I get back to Canada because they are so not the same here.

  2. yvette Says:

    I agree! It’s better in Canada. And never, ever buy the Cadbury bars manufactured in Malaysia or Australia. Too much sugar, not enough milk, and the chocolate is more harsh.

Leave a Reply

