Down to the wire

A year ago Carole got a whopping case of stomach flu and couldn’t take me to the airport for my trip here to Halifax.  Sally stepped in, Fred and Sally and I pushed and crammed my luggage into the car and drove off to Oakland–and then home again because my flight had been cancelled.

The next day, Carole was recovered and we went for a walk on the Berkeley pier.  

Bob, Sally, me

Bob, Sally, me

And that evening, Carole reran me to the airport.

A year ago…. Tonight, Carole and I have a drink and chat scheduled, across 3700 miles.  And my plans to go to Nashville later this week are about to go bust for my lack of proper travel documents.

The wires have changed but it seems that the “down to” is a running issue.

Leave a Reply

