Let’s do lunch

When I was of an age to be able to express it in single digits, my school day was broken neatly in half at its midpoint by a 60-minute lunch hour.  In hgih school, this was reduced to 45 minutes but, if one elected to eat at school, that period was further divided:  you hald “first half” or “second half” dibs on the cafeteria.

As a working adult, the lunch break has been a social time for me, when I take it.  Sometimes I don’t bother.  Every other worker here, I notice, takes the lunch break pretty seriously, cutting away from desks to go elsewhere, whether out to eat or take an hour long walk or even a shopping trip.

They seem to get the lunch break message early:  the school day here comes with as much as 90 minutes–and less than 75–dividing its classroom sectors.  In contrast to my years living in suburban Boston, where students seemed to get only about 20 minutes and were necessarily expected to chew at their desks, kids here have real breathing space. (Berkeley High’s lunch break, which was a period during which I would work on campus and thus have had ironed into my genes, runs from 11:32 to 12:12, not only relativley brief but also off-key in terms of clock norms).

The day as a whole–whether work or school–is no longer than down south, and people certainly work hard.  But when it’s time for lunch, it’s time for lunch, or, at least, a break that’s meangful and filled with possibilities.

One Response to “Let’s do lunch”

  1. Sharon Says:

    You know, the lunch break is taken very seriously here in Janesville, too. It’s difficult to get used to after 15 years inside the Beltway. If I go home, it’s a break, albeit one that makes me feel guilty for wasting gas. If I stay at work, I’m at my desk — working. The serious break is probably healthier.

Leave a Reply

