Take away

Bob has been working methodically for months triaging 20 years of accumulated stuff as to what to keep, what to give to friends, and what to discuss with me before assigning its fate. With me here in Berkeley, he’s passed books, furniture, and even rocks by me for input. This morning, our son’s old turtle sandbox, a jester hat from a long ago birthday party, a huge orange wheelbarrow I’d never seen before, and a green painted wood chair that came into my possession what seems like 700 years ago when I was living in a basement studio on Washington Street, in Brookline, Massachusetts, went to the curb in Bob’s cycle of “up for grabs.” Within two hours, all are gone. I saw a man from across the street carting off the chair but the rest of the stuff went away during the walk Bob and I took up to Live Oak Park, past the picnic area where Kay had her 40th birthday party, along Berryman Path and the side of the newly completed synagogue on Oxford, and past the $3 million mansion for sale on Oxford. Stuff gone, but a last round of rememberies to take away.

Leave a Reply

