Counting the steps

Not a procrastinator by nature, I have been behaving in that fashion when it comes to getting behind the wheel. But, as my friend Kay would say, I am now “on the case.” With, I freely admit, a little help–in the form of unsubtle pushes–from others. Since turning over my new leaf, in the past 24 hours, I have been in contact (3 times!) with a driving school, and thoroughly read, and been amazed by, the length of the list enumerating “How to Obtain a Regular Class 5 Driver’s Licence [sic].”


This has been the first time I have come across a list here in which I frankly don’t understand what I am being told: step 2 is to purchase a receipt (as is step 8); step 16 gives pricing info depending on whether one chooses “same photo or…new photos” but same as what? I am referred to the Driver Handbook ($8.35) to learn more about some steps (e. g., “Pass road sign and rules test”), to phone numbers for others (e. g., “Make an appointment for a road test”), and to a web site that is marvelously layered and complex, although well enough laid out that I can take it on, as a catch all answer place.


The web site seems to be written on the theory that stating things three times over is a sure way to help numbskulls such as myself get the point. It is here that I find the explanation for purchasing receipts–and am warned several times that receipts must be purchased in advance, must be presented in advance, and no test can be taken without previous presentation thereof.


Because the site offers the pdf version of the Driver Handbook, I am able to see that it is 213 pages long, with the files nicely separated into sections so that you do not have to download for an hour at a whack. The table of contents offers me a peak at the possible emergencies I shall be facing: power failure, sticking gas pedal, and wheels leaving pavement are just three. The table of contents also provides a glimpse at some interesting internal logic: the section on drinking and driving is immediately followed by one called “getting caught.”


This morning, I actually started to register for driving classes online but was brought up short by the registration form’s request for a “Master number.” I asked around about that today and learned that one’s Master number is one’s licence number…which seems a bit circular and defeating. Plus, i have to learn this new way of spelling license.


But I am now officially on the case.

2 Responses to “Counting the steps”

  1. yvette Says:

    Hmm, I see a little SmartCar in the future, tootling down the avenue, with guess who behind the wheel.

  2. Sandy Says:

    Oooo, a SmartCar! Vroom! Vroom, vroom, vroom!

Leave a Reply

