It all happened in Nova Scotia

There’s a sad article on the front page of today’s paper about the mortal illness of a celebrated pumpkin grower named Howard Dill. Even without ever hearing of the man before this, I am touched by the presentation of his family and friends’ concern.

 
     

But I also delight in the assorted and quirky facts that come bounding forth in the capitulation of his noteworthiness. First, there is the reminder–how could I have forgotten?–of the annual Pumpkin Regatta to which Mr. Dill’s agricultural work has contributed. Then there’s his friendship with Martha Stewart. (Sadly, she didn’t make it to the race that year, after all, due to weather conditions that kept her flight from leaving Maine for Halifax).  And then there’s hockey history, too! Apparently Long Pond, on Howard Dill’s farmland, is a real contender as “the” place where the sport was “invented.” So he gets a lot of pro sports visitors, too. Pretty busy life for a farmer!

      

The likes of such news reports goes far in explaining my enthusiasm for Nova Scotia. I’ve always been a sucker for the quirky and off-beat in history and social events. Yes, I saw Arthur Fiedler conduct the Boston Pops on numerous occasions–but I also have revelled in seeing his fire truck on display in Brookline’s Larz Anderson transportation museum.  Hmm. Larz Anderson is the last place I’ve been ice skating, too. Maybe, in honor of Mr. Dill, I should give that activity another shot….  

2 Responses to “It all happened in Nova Scotia”

  1. Sandy Says:

    Would you like me to send you one of my skating dresses? I think I was about your size when I wore them. 🙂

  2. halifaxing Says:

    I have never in my life worn a skirt while skating and can’t imagine doing so. That’s for artistic skaters!

Leave a Reply

