Going, staying

More snow arrived and the guys left, the two events almost a single action. This morning we had a chance for a final schlep to Tim’s and then time was out except for staring out the window at the snow which, at that point, was picturesque. Since then, it’s turned a bit sleety and they are sitting at the airport. (I know because they called just as I returned from my post goodbye walk. They’re watching big equipment; I’m in a very quiet apartment).

My closets and cupboards have some odd remains of the visit: in deference to lightening their loads both for the return trip to Berkeley and the ultimate move next summer back to here, they’ve left their snow boots, some gloves, and a hat. Also, there remains an enormous box of English Breakfast tea and the dregs of egg nog. The latter’s carton offers up a pun, the French side of it identifying the stuff as “poule lait.” Ha ha.

They’ve taken back “Love Actually” but left me “If,” hardly a cheer inducing trade. But by our collective powers and differing degrees of tenacity, the long overdue monitor has found a home and made a great venue for the screening of the two brand new episodes of “The Vicar of Dibley” the other evening.

My former dining area, which I’d converted into a spare bedroom for my son, has now been again reborn as a nicely serviceable office. So, I might as well get some work done in it this snowy afternoon…or maybe finishing the murder mystery I bought in last week’s snow might be a better order of the day.

3 Responses to “Going, staying”

  1. caroleleita Says:

    Love the webcam. I’ve put a link to it on my toolbar so I can take a look whenever. Sally and I watched “Love, Actually” the other night with great enjoyment and Sally remembered you’d recommended it. We thank you.

    Do you get to watch new episodes “The Vicar of Dibley” because you’re in Canada or because a new dvd is out?

  2. halifaxing Says:

    A new dvd is out, apparently toward the first of this month and was brought along for sharing. What I hadn’t realized is that the witer, Richard Curtis, is the same for both Dibly and Love Actually.

  3. Alicia Abramson Says:

    Ahh, “Love ActuallY”. Quite enjoyable. I went around saying “Love Actually” for weeks afterwards and Katie picked it up, and would randomly say that too. “If” is quite bizzare. Emily fell asleep watching it and I had to put it on subtitles to be able to understand much of what they say. The shooting sequence from the roof of the school building reminded me of “Taps” (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083169/), but with psychadellic overtones.

Leave a comment