Getting in

It takes 61 minutes from touchdown at Halifax International Airport to the moment I am walking into my hotel room. This includes the 25-minute cab ride. It also includes the line at Customs, the interview with Immigration for my work permit, the little trip down the hall to pay the cashier for the permit (and then back up the hall to Immigration), hauling suitcases, and clearing a second customs check. No other experience with any bureaucracy stands in my memory as outstripping this level of efficiency. Is it the time, the season, the country? I’m sure I’ll learn how to call it.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

